Quality Walk

Nixon Hall Trail

This landscape has been an ancient routeway for thousands of years and was used by traders, adventurers and armies. The Battle of the Ford of the Biscuits was fought here in 1594, and the ruins of 18th century Nixon Hall nestles within a landscaped demesne of rolling drumlins. These looped community trails offer a unique walking experience with panoramic views of the Arney River Valley, Knockninny Hill, Enniskillen, Benaughlin, Belmore and Cuilcagh Mountains.





2.5 miles

OS Map


Nearest Town

Arney, Bellanaleck

Route Shape


Route Type

Parkland & Grassland, Woodland


Farm lanes, compacted gravel

Grid Reference (Start)


Grid Reference (End)


Point of Interest

Nixon Hall, Views of Laragh Lough and Lough Erne, Mullanaman

Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty


Route Description

This looped trail leads to the ruins of Nixon Hall, where a spur continues to a viewpoint offering views of Laragh Lough and Upper Lough Erne. From Nixon Hall, continue along a farm track to the top of a drumlin to enjoy extensive views to the west. From here a second optional spur leads to the summit of Mullanaman, where local women are said to have watched the Battle of the Ford of the Biscuits. From here experience panoramic views of the surrounding countryside before retracing your steps to join the main trail through open farmland to Arney Hall.

Getting to the Start (by Car)

The Trailhead is Located at Arney Community Centre on Arney Road


Dogs are allowed. Dogs must be kept on leads. No dogs are allowed on the spur to the Mullanaman Viewpoint due to cattle grazing

Accessibility Grade

Grade 2


Car park

Walk Location
Map of Northern Ireland